Herbert Hoover
Uncommon Public Service Award

Presented by: Hoover Presidential Foundation

The Uncommon Public Service Award was created by the Hoover Presidential Foundation to honor those public servants who demonstrate uncommon service to the people of Iowa above and beyond their legislative responsibilities. The Hoover Presidential Foundation requests the public to nominate legislators who exemplify Herbert Hoover's ideals of honesty, integrity and uncommon public service. The nominees are judged on their public service and humanitarian projects. The awards are presented during the last week of March in the state House and Senate chambers during the morning session. Additional recognition is given at the annual Foundation Celebration Banquet in the Fall.

Nominations are accepted now through March 1 and are open to the public.

CLICK HERE to enter your nomination online.

To print and mail a nomination, CLICK HERE.

"Being a politician is a poor profession.
Being a public servant is a noble one." -Herbert Hoover

View their stories through THIS LINK

Past recipients include:
2019 Senator Ken Rozenboom
2019 Representative john Forbes

2018 Senator Pam Jochum
2018 Representative Dawn Pettengill

2017 Senator Rob Hogg
2017 Representative Zach Nunn

2016 Senator Tim Kapucian
2016 House Speaker Linda Upmeyer

2015 Senator Wally Horn
2015 Representative Helen Miller

2014 Senator Nancy Boettger
2014 Representative Steven Olson

2013 Senator Amanda Ragan
2013 Representative Dave Heaton

2012 Senator Steve Sodders
2012 Representative Royd Chambers

2011 Senator Robert E. Dvorsky
2011 Representative Annette Sweeney

2010 Senator Daryl Beall
2010 Representative Lance J. Horbach

2009 Senator Dennis Black
2009 Representative Jeff Kaufmann

2008 Senator David Johnson
2008 Representative Mark D. Smith

2007 Senator John Kibbie
2007 Representative Scott Raecker